Maryland: Department Honors Employees with Long Service Awards

ANNAPOLIS, MD – The Maryland Department of Agriculture today honored 48 employees for their years of dedicated service to the department and to the state. Of the 48 employees being honored – 11 have 30 or more years of service and three of those individuals have more than 40 years. All together, these 48 employees represent 1,900 years of public service and approximately 3.6 million hours worked and about 45,600 paychecks.

"Marylanders and our state's agriculture community are fortunate to have such a dedicated and knowledgeable group of public servants working to strengthen the State of Maryland and this agency," said Maryland Agriculture Secretary Joe Bartenfelder. "Our staff plays a major role in furthering our state's agriculture industry, helping farmers, protecting the environment, keeping consumers safe, and ensuring fairness in the marketplace. It is a true testament to the value of our work that many of the employees honored this year have been with the department since its earliest years."

The following is a list of department employees by their county of residence who were recognized with service awards.

Anne Arundel

  • Donna Hill, Marketing, 30 years Derrick Howe, State Chemist, 25 years Offiah Offiah, State Chemist, 25 years Sheila Saffell, Fiscal Services, 25 years Mary Darling, Human Resources, 20 years Jennifer Schaafsma, Maryland Agricultural Water Quality Cost-Share (MACS) program, 20 years Karen Fedor, Marketing, 15 years Therese Montano, Food Quality Assurance, 10 years Kimberly Abramo, Animal Health, 5 years Alisha Mulkey, Resource Conservation, 5 years

More on Marylandian
Baltimore City
  • Aaron Webb, Weights & Measures, 45 years Sonya Gaynor, State Chemist, 25 years Joseph Boako, Weights & Measures, 20 years Kay-Megan Washington, Marketing, 5 years

Baltimore County
  • Kenneth McManus, State Chemist, 35 years Theresa Brophy, Marketing, 30 years Rona Flagle, Resource Conservation, 30 years Erika Nix, State Chemist, 15 years Russell Noratel, Pesticides, 10 years Joseph Bytella, State Chemist, 5 years Kelly Love, Pesticides, 5 years

  • Jennifer David, Resource Conservation, 20 years

  • Deborah Minnich, Resource Conservation, 25 years Jeffrey Dean, Resource Conservation, 5 years

  • Ronald Mitchell, Mosquito Control, 30 years

  • Darren Alles, Nutrient Management, 20 years Cybil Preston, Plant Protection and Weed Management, 15 years Ellen James, Horse/Vet Board, 5 years

  • Harwood Owings, State Chemist, 50 years Kimberly Arnold, Animal Health, 30 years Elizabeth Koncki, Weights & Measures, 10 years

  • Berhanu Argaw, Pesticides, 10 years

Prince George's
  • Christal Stanbrough, Animal Health, 45 years Roshawn Burgess, Resource Conservation, 20 years Christopher Hickerson, Central Services, 5 years

More on Marylandian
Queen Anne's
  • Lynne Willson, Resource Conservation, 35 years Gwendolyn Schindler, Human Resources, 25 years Phyllis Riggin, Maryland Agricultural Water Quality Cost-Share (MACS) program, 20 years

St. Mary's
  • John Lyon, Resource Conservation, 5 years

  • Paul Nuwer, Mosquito Control, 20 years

  • Levin Schwaninger, Resource Conservation, 20 years

  • Mark Taylor, Plant Protection and Weed Management, 35 years Daniel Schamberger, Mosquito Control, 25 years Barbara Kunie, Animal Health, 20 years


  • Charles Hayes, Resource Conservation, 20 years, West Virginia Stephanie Knutsen, Resource Conservation, 20 years, Delaware Paul Nuwer, Mosquito Control, 20 years, Delaware Jorge Velasquez, Food Quality Assurance, 5 years, Delaware Rhonda Cagle, Food Quality Assurance, 5 years, Delaware

Photos from today's award ceremony can be found on the department's Flickr.

# # #

Follow Maryland Department of Agriculture on Twitter @MdAgDeptstats

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation

1000 characters max.

Latest on Marylandian